United African Utopias



The United African Utopias are made up of GRACELAND, JUJUSTAN, NEVERÄVERLAND, ZUMANIA, NEPOTISIMALA and VADALAND. The Skeleton Crew cordially invites you to a meet and greet with representatives of the United African Utopias, including presentations, performances of the national anthems of each province, and the opportunity to apply for entry visas.


As imagined by:

The Skeleton Crew (João Orecchia, Koos Groenewald, Jana Hamman, Mpumi Mcata, Liam Lynch), Hans Narva & Tanja Krone (Berlin), Siyabonga Mthembu, Malcolm Jiyane, Jane Rademeyer, Lani van der Merwe, Ilke Alexander, Nkoto Malebye and Simphiwe Tshabalala.


In cooperation with the Goethe Institut as part of their conference ÜBER(W)UNDEN: Art In Troubled Times, 7 -11 September 2011.


Date: Sunday, 11 September 2011
Time: 15:00 – 16:30
Place: Gandhi Square, Johannesburg


Between 10 and 5