Nkgabiseng Motau Announced As Jury President For The 2022 Pendoring Awards

As excitement builds towards the 2022 Pendoring Awards, the jury was announced this week, giving the prestigious role of Jury President to one of South Africa’s brightest and most respected creative talents – Nkgabiseng Motau.

Motau, CCO and founding partner at Think Creative Africa, will head up another strong jury line-up that will judge the use of South Africa’s indigenous languages across the creative spectrum. No stranger to the Pendorings, Motau holds a gold Pendoring and has judged multiple rounds of the Awards. Motau is also regarded as a seasoned and valued juror globally. Last year, she was selected to be part of juries for Cannes Lions 2021 and the Ad Stars awards in South Korea. In an interview, she spoke on her belief that, “the diverse nature of our country brings a unique perspective and cultural sensitivity. We are able to tap into so many versions of reality, drawing on our history and our presence to create work that is really universal.”

“The jury for every Pendoring Awards has been full of exceptionally gifted and dedicated professionals, and this year not only stays true to our desire to have the best judge the best, but has draws from a wide range of expertise across the creative community,” said Eben Keun, Pendoring General Manager.

This year’s Pendoring campaign encourages entrants to “Let Your Language Loose”, calling on South Africans to set their mother tongues free on the creative world instead of hiding them behind a second or third language. The deadline for entries has been extended to 30 September.

Below is a comprehensive list of Jury members: 

Not pictured:

Sanele Ngubane – Creative writer – TBWA RAAD

Ntokozo Tshabalala – Creative Director – TBWA Hunt\Lascaris

Jabulani Sigege – Executive Creative Director – Machine_

Tumi Sethebe – ECD – The Riverbed Agency

Lufuno Mavhungu – Freelance Creative Director/Copywriter 

Nobantu Sibeko – Integrated Creative Director – King James (part of Accenture Song)

Tshegofatso Phetlhe – Creative Director – VMLY&R

Bonolo Modise – Executive Creative Director – The Curve Revolution

Between 10 and 5